Schindler Management Ltd.

The objective of the project was the sustainable development and securing of the production sites in Europe. While simultaneously implementing the project at four locations, joint strategic development was initiated, a local improvements organisation was set up and management positioned in its role as the change agent.

Client Profile

As a manufacturer of elevators and escalators, Schindler moves more than one billion people every day. In 2017, the Schindler Group generated sales of almost CHF 10.2 billion. Backing this success are over 60,000 employees in more than 100 countries worldwide. Supply Chain Europe comprises four production plants.

Task Solutions

  • Four initiatives were launched at each site: optimisation of production processes, outsourcing of products according to on a clear industrial logic, vertical integration and introduction of an end-to-end management system based on shop floor management.
  • To optimise production, processes were linked and structured coherent with lean criteria. For this purpose, assembly systems were redesigned, manufacturing processes ideally matched to assembly lines, and the best possible logistics established to supply the assembly and production facilities.
  • In order to optimise the production footprint, processes were first improved, storage facilities set up, then processes and products relocated and the ramp-up phase supported. At each location, the layout was redefined and the plants constructed on the basis of lean criteria.
  • The consolidation and optimisation of production has opened up potentials for the vertical integration of outsourced productions.
  • Establishment of shop floor management to uniform standards ideally links the shop floor to management, enabling rapid intervention in the event of non-conformances. Problems are solved quickly, but also sustainably, with all sections being further developed in this manner.

Client Benefits

  • With its lean team, Schindler is now able to implement its own lean projects and further develop the production facilities.
  • Productivity was increased by 25%, lead times by 15% and one-time deliveries by 99.5%.

Schindler Management Ltd.

Zielsetzung des Projekts war die nachhaltige Entwicklung und Sicherung der Produktionsstandorte in Europa. Bei gleichzeitiger Durchführung an vier Standorten wurde die gemeinsame strategische Entwicklung initiiert, eine lokale Verbesserungsorganisation aufgebaut und das Management in seine Rolle als Change Agent gebracht.

Kundenprofil

Als Lift- und Rolltreppen-Hersteller bewegt Schindler täglich mehr als eine Milliarde Menschen. 2017 erzielte die Schindler-Gruppe einen Umsatz von knapp 10,2 Milliarden Franken. Hinter diesem Erfolg stehen weltweit über 60'000 Mitarbeitende in mehr als 100 Ländern. Die Supply Chain Europe umfasst vier Produktionswerke.

Gelöste Aufgaben

  • An jedem Standort wurden vier Initiativen gestartet: Optimierung der Produktionsprozesse, Verlagerung von Produkten nach einer klaren industriellen Logik, vertikale Integration und Einführung eines durchgängigen Führungssystems basierend auf Shopfloor Management.
  • Zur Optimierung der Produktion wurden Prozesse verknüpft und nach Lean- Kriterien aufgebaut. Dazu wurden Montagesysteme neu designed, Fertigungsprozesse ideal auf die Montage ausgerichtet und eine bestmögliche Logistik zur Versorgung der Montage und Fertigung aufgesetzt.
  • Für die Optimierung des Produktionsfootprints wurden zuerst Prozesse verbessert, Lager aufgebaut und anschliessend Prozesse und Produkte verlagert und der Ramp-up begleitet. An jedem Standort wurde das Layout neu definiert und die Anlagen nach Lean-Kriterien aufgebaut.
  • Die Verdichtung und Optimierung der Produktion hat die Möglichkeit zur vertikalen Integration von ausgelagerten Produktionen eröffnet.
  • Der Aufbau von Shopfloor Management nach einheitlichen Standards, verknüpft den Shopfloor mit dem Management in idealer Weise und ermöglicht ein sehr rasches Eingreifen bei Abweichungen. Probleme werden kurzfristig, aber auch nachhaltig gelöst und alle Bereiche so weiterentwickelt.

Erzielter Nutzen

  • Schindler wurde mit dem Lean Team in die Lage versetzt, eigene Lean Projekte umzusetzen und die Produktion weiterzuentwickeln.
  • Die Produktivität konnte um 25% gesteigert, die Durchlaufzeiten um 15% reduziert und die One-Time Delivery auf 99.5% gesteigert werden.