Glossary of Lean Management and Supply Chain Management terms

For mutual understanding: short definitions of important terms from the world of continuous improvement and Supply Chain Management

Glossary

Click on one of the letters beneath to check the glossary for terms beginning with that letter.

P

Pacemaker

This a process within a value stream that has a cycle time that is as close as possible to the > customer takt and that defines the rhythm (process step) of a process chain.

Pareto cart

A pareto cart is used to help determine the waste characteristics of a product. They are sorted onto a cart so that the most frequent defects can be visualized. > Pareto principle

Pareto principle

According to the Pareto principle, named after Vilfredo Pareto (1848–1923), the effects of a problem (80 %) are most often due to a small number of causes (20 %).

PDCA cycle

Targeted troubleshooting when problems arise is the key to success when solving these problems. A series of structured problem-solving techniques make it easier for employees to systematically and deliberately expedite and implement problem solving.

The PDCA cycle consists of four steps:
Plan – Planning phase
Do – Implementation phase
Check – Check effectiveness
Act – Standardize

To align with continuous improvement, the PDCA cycle is carried out repeatedly.

Point Kaizen

Point Kaizen is an improvement that is limited to a given work station (= punctual).

Poka Yoke

Japanese for avoiding unplanned mistakes

Poka Yoke is any mechanism that helps avoid unplanned mistakes. Poka Yoke is the application of simple, error-proof mechanisms to consistently avoid incorrect assembly, mix-ups or the downstream movement of defective parts. Because stable and high-quality processes begin long before the production phase, simple Poka Yoke measures can be implemented preventively in the construction and planning phase to ensure quality.

Poka Yoke is implemented to avoid: Leaving out or forgetting process steps, process or operational- related mistakes, incorrect or missing parts, setup or installation errors.

PPM (Parts per million)

An error rate indicates that a pre-defined, relatively small number of components can be defective out of one million components produced. The ppm unit of measure is prevalent in the automobile sector: auto manufacturers demand that suppliers strictly adhere to the ppm rate (e.g. for the electronic components of built-in control devices).

Process chain

Process chains are directly aligned with a flow, or chain. The materials can only flow to the next process step.

Product / machine matrix

The product / machine matrix represents which component families are produced on which machines. This matrix forms the basis of developing assembly lines and process chains.

Production diary

A production diary defines the weekly plan for the management team, including support functions, and is posted on the > Shop Floor Management board. It sets the daily shop floor discussions regarding daily activities and defines the daily activities to be carried out by management. This includes problem solving and process confirmation. It also defines who takes part in which meeting and when. Additional meetings must be scheduled around the times set out in the production diary.

Production smoothing

Leveling production is part of > Heijunka. A prerequisite for smoothing is the uniform dispatching of the customer demand to production (leveling). When smoothing, customer demand is broken into the smallest uniform production demand. By sequencing the demand for all components produced by one resource, a production pattern is created. This is the guideline for a recurring production order that remains the same. Smoothing is a prerequisite for synchronous production.

Project management

Project management is a structured method used to work through complex tasks or projects based on a:

» Clearly defined organizational structure, with defined tasks, competencies and responsibilities
» Clearly defined organizational structure, with defined tools, methods and tools The objective of project management is to provide a clear overview of “big” changes within an organization. Projects are plans with a defined goal, as well as constraints with respect to time, finances and personnel. These projects are clearly differentiated from other projects and have a project-specific organizational structure.

Pull principle

The pull principle is one of the four building blocks of lean production (pull production). The downstream process or concrete customer demand determine which component is delivered or produced when and in what quantity. Minimum / maximum inventory levels are defined between customers and suppliers. This thereby limits > overproduction quantities.

Push principle

„Push production“: The downstream process or a prognosis are what determine the quantity delivered or processed, and when. This results in > overproduction between process steps, the lead time is long and usually not plannable.

Glossar Lean Management und Supply Chain Management

Damit wir uns verstehen: Kurzdefinitionen von relevanten Begriffen aus der Welt der kontinuierlichen Verbesserung und des Supply Chain Managements

Glossar

Ein Klick auf einen der Buchstaben unten führt Sie zu den Glossar-Einträgen mit dem ausgewählten Anfangsbuchstaben

P

Pareto-Prinzip

Das Pareto-Prinzip, benannt nach Vilfredo Pareto (1848-1923), besagt, dass die meisten Auswirkungen eines Problems (80 %) häufig nur auf eine kleine Anzahl von Ursachen (20 %) zurückzuführen sind.

Pareto-Wagen

Der Pareto-Wagen unterstützt bei der Feststellung von Ausschussmerkmalen am Produkt. Die Ausschussprodukte werden auf einem Wagen sortiert und gesammelt, um die häufigsten Fehler zu visualisieren. > Pareto-Prinzip

PDCA-Zyklus

Die gezielte Ursachenfindung bei auftretenden Problemen ist der Schlüssel zum Erfolg bei der Lösung dieser Probleme. Hier steht eine Reihe von strukturierten Problemlösungstechniken zur Verfügung, die es den Mitarbeitern erleichtern, systematisch und gezielt die Problemlösung voranzutreiben und umzusetzen.

Der PDCA-Kreislauf setzt sich aus 4 Phasen zusammen:
Plan – Planungsphase
Do – Umsetzungsphase
Check – Wirksamkeitsprüfung
Act – Standardisierung

Der PDCA-Kreislauf wird in der Regel im Sinne der kontinuierlichen Verbesserung wiederholt durchlaufen.

Point Kaizen

Point Kaizen ist eine Verbesserung, die sich auf eine bestimmte Arbeitsstation (= punktuell) beschränkt.

Poka Yoke

jap. für „Vermeiden unbeabsichtigter Fehlhandlungen“

Poka Yoke ist die Vermeidung unbeabsichtigter Fehler. Es geht um die Anwendung einfacher, fehlersicherer Mechanismen, um den Falscheinbau, die Verwechslung oder die Weitergabe fehlerhafter Teile konsequent zu vermeiden. Da stabile und hochqualitative Prozesse lange vor der Produktionsphase beginnen, kann bereits in der Konstruktions- und Planungsphase präventiv durch einfache Poka-Yoke-Massnahmen die Qualität abgesichert werden. Poka Yoke wird eingesetzt zur Vermeidung von: Auslassen / Vergessen von Arbeitsschritten, Bearbeitungs- / Bedienungsfehlern, falschen / fehlenden Teilen, Einrichte- / Einstellfehlern.

PPM (Parts per million)

engl. für „Fehlerrate pro Millionstel“

Die Fehlerrate sagt aus, dass von einer Million produzierter Teile maximal eine vordefinierte relativ kleine Anzahl defekt sein darf; besonders in der Automobilindustrie werden Ausfallhäufigkeiten in ppm ausgedrückt: Autohersteller fordern strenge ppm-Raten von Zulieferern (z. B. bei der Elektronik in den verbauten Steuergeräten).

Produkt- / Maschinen-Matrix

Die Produkt- / Maschinen-Matrix stellt dar, welche Teilefamilien an welchen Maschinen produziert werden. Die Matrix ist die Basis für die Bildung von Fliesslinien / Prozessketten.

Produktionstagebuch

Das Produktionstagebuch ist ein festgelegter Wochenplan für das Führungsteam inklusive unterstützender Funktionen und hängt am Board für das > Shopfloor Management aus. Es regelt die täglichen Shopfloor-Besprechungen mit den zu behandelnden Themen und strukturiert die täglichen Aktivitäten der Führungskräfte. Hierzu gehören die Problemlösung und die Prozessbestätigung. Des Weiteren definiert es, wer wann und wo an welchem Meeting teilnimmt. Zusätzliche Besprechungen haben sich an die Zeitstruktur des Produktionstagebuchs zu halten.

Projektmanagement

Das Projektmanagement ist eine Methode zum strukturierten Abarbeiten komplexer Aufgabenstellungen / Projekte mittels klarer Aufbauorganisation mit definierten Aufgaben, Kompetenzen und Verantwortungen sowie einer klaren Ablauforganisation mit definierten Werkzeugen, Methoden und Hilfsmitteln. Ziel des Projektmanagements ist es, die „grossen“ Veränderungen in einem Unternehmen übersichtlich zu managen. Projekte sind dabei Vorhaben mit einer definierten Zielvorgabe sowie mit zeitlicher, finanzieller und personeller Begrenzung. Sie sind klar abgegrenzt zu anderen Vorhaben und haben eine projektspezifische Organisation.

Prozesskette

Die Prozessschritte sind unmittelbar im Fluss angeordnet, in einer „Kette“. Das Material kann zwangsläufig nur zum nächsten Arbeitsschritt weitergegeben werden.

Pull-Prinzip

Das Pull-Prinzip (auch „ziehende Fertigung“ genannt) ist einer der vier Bausteine schlanker Produktion. Der nachgelagerte Prozess bzw. der konkrete Kundenbedarf bestimmt, welcher Artikel in welcher Menge wann produziert bzw. geliefert wird. Zwischen Kunden und Lieferanten sind Min- / Max-Grenzen für den Lagerbestand definiert. Das Niveau der > Überproduktion ist dadurch limitiert.

Push-Prinzip

„Schiebende Fertigung“: Der vorgelagerte Prozess bzw. eine Prognose bestimmt, welche Menge wann gefertigt bzw. geliefert wird. Dadurch entsteht > Überproduktion zwischen den Arbeitsschritten, die > Durchlaufzeit ist lange und meist nicht planbar.