Glossary of Lean Management and Supply Chain Management terms

For mutual understanding: short definitions of important terms from the world of continuous improvement and Supply Chain Management

Glossary

Click on one of the letters beneath to check the glossary for terms beginning with that letter.

S

Sensei

Japanese for master or teacher

A sensei is a lean production expert. The sensei passes on his / her knowledge as the mentor.

Sequencing stability

The sequencing of components to be manufactured / assembled should correspond to the planned sequence; this ensures uniform production, transparent and manageable production control, and logistics that align with production. > Just-in-sequence

Sequential manufacturing

In sequential manufacturing, the sequencing of production materials is value stream-driven and production materials are connected using simple transportation devices.

Set-up redcution

To reduce set-up time, the set-up process is observed and analyzed (e.g. using the ECRS – eliminate, combine, rearrange, simplify – method), > waste is reduced, and the developed concept is tested and standardized. The defined process standard is the basis for training employees who carry out the setup process. One of the ways > overproduction is decreased is by producing smaller lots. To produce these lots without too much time loss, the setup times must be kept as short as possible.

SFM (Shop Floor Management)

Shop Floor Management supports the consistent development of on-site processes and procedures. The presence of management in production areas and their focus on deviations from standards dramatically speeds up decision-making and results in the immediate implementation of solutions.

Shop Floor Management clearly defines management’s tasks and requires special modes of behavior. Management is supported by the application of specific tools.

Five Shop Floor Management-related tasks are carried out on-site and are as follows:
1. Carry out regular communication
2. Confirm processes
3. Enable employees

4. Carry out continuous process improvement
5. Solve problems in a structured manner

SFM exemplifies behavior that encourages employees to solve problems within their scope of competencies and initiate improvements. For example, management keeps its comments to a minimum, only makes binding commitments, gives but also accepts feedback, gains its own perspective of a situation, allows mistakes in learning situations, does not lay blame and puts in place questioning techniques.

SFM tools support the effectiveness of management, e.g.: production diary, KPI charts, problem-solving sheet, T-cards.

Signal Kanban

Every container is marked with a Kanban card or signal. When last part is taken, the > Kanban is sent to the source and added to the Kanban board. The Kanban board reflects the exact inventory levels and depicts the level of > overproduction by source and destination. Based on the distribution of the cards in the color-coded areas, the allocation of the workstations as well as the control loop dimensioning can be determined.

SIPOC

SIPOC is a > Six Sigma tool that summarizes, in table form, an entire process at the start of an improvement measure or a project. SIPOC can be used to clearly delimit processes within a process chain. A SIPOC diagram illustrates a moment in time of a process. Each of the letters in SIPOC represent the names of the columns in the table: S – Supplier, I – Inputs, P – Process, O – Output, C – Customer.

Six Sigma

Six Sigma (6σ) is a set of management techniques to manage quality and to improve processes and process output quality. Its key element is to describe, analyze, improve and monitor business processes using statistical methods. As a rule, every quality characteristic leads to an undesired variation in process results. As a part of a so-called process capability inspection, deviations from the target state in relation to the tolerance level of the characteristics in question are identified. The standard deviation of the characteristic (the Greek letter σ, which is read as sigma) plays an important role. It measures the variance of the characteristic and how much the characteristics’ values deviate from one another. The further the standards deviate from the range of tolerance, the more likely it is that the tolerance levels will be exceeded. Also, the further the mean is from the middle of the tolerance range (the closer it is to one of the tolerance levels), the greater the regression. That is why it is important to measure the distance between the mean and the closest tolerance range using standard deviations. This distance, divided by σ is the process capability index cpk; Cpk = 1 if the mean is 3 σ from the closest tolerance level. These techniques were named Six Sigma because Six Sigma requires that the closest tolerance level be at least six standard deviations (6σ, Six Sigma) from the mean. When this requirement is met, we can assume that a zero-error production has been met and that the tolerance levels are rarely exceeded.

SMED (Single minute exchange of die)

Shigeo Shingo came up with this series of techniques to set up production equipment in less than 10 minutes. > Set-up reduction

Source

Source is used to indicate the material’s point of origin / production facility. The opposite is the drain.

Standard layout

A standard layout diagram illustrates a workstation or cell and indicates how and in what order standardized work is performed.

Standard work

Standard work describes the pre-defined process steps carried out by an employee during > takt time.

Standard work combination sheet

A standard work combination sheet is a document that displays the process steps for one or several employees. It is used to display the optimum combination of human and machine work.

Standardization

Standards describe the predefined procedure of processes and workflows. Standardization ensures that optimum performance is continuously achieved, that resources are used efficiently and that quality remains consistent, regardless of the operator. Standards are visually recognizable, making it easier to immediately identify errors and problems that deviate from the standard. Based on this, e.g. error stoppage measures are determined, or a problem-solving process is started. Standards make it possible to more quickly and easily familiarize employees with the process.

Stop-the-line authority

The ability of workers to stop the process when there are problems and to pull the > Andon cord. This prevents defective parts from entering downstream processes.

Supermarket

The term supermarket is used to identify an instrument that independently controls production. In a supermarket, all components can be found in a pre-defined area; they are organized for optimum reach, their inventory level is limited, and components are replaced as soon as they are used.

Swim lane diagram

A swim lane flowchart is used to analyze and model business processes by illustrating the business processes as a flowchart. Various job responsibilities are placed horizontally in a (swim) lane, so that the transfer of responsibility or interfaces is more apparent.

Glossar Lean Management und Supply Chain Management

Damit wir uns verstehen: Kurzdefinitionen von relevanten Begriffen aus der Welt der kontinuierlichen Verbesserung und des Supply Chain Managements

Glossar

Ein Klick auf einen der Buchstaben unten führt Sie zu den Glossar-Einträgen mit dem ausgewählten Anfangsbuchstaben

S

Schrittmacher

Der Prozess innerhalb eines Wertstroms, dessen Taktzeit den geringsten Abstand zum > Kundentakt besitzt, gibt den Rhythmus („Schritt“) in einer Prozesskette vor.

Senke

Die Senke ist der Verwendungsort von Materialien. Das Gegenteil ist die > Quelle.

Sensei

jap. für „Meister“ oder „Lehrer“

Ein Sensei ist ein Experte in schlanker Produktion. Er gibt sein Wissen als > Mentor weiter.

SFM | Shopfloor Management

Das Shopfloor Management unterstützt das konsequente Entwickeln der Prozesse und Abläufe am Ort des Geschehens. Durch die Präsenz der Führungskräfte in den Produktionsbereichen und deren Fokussierung auf Abweichungen vom Standard werden Entscheidungen dramatisch beschleunigt und Lösungen direkt umgesetzt.

Die Aufgaben für die Führungskraft sind im Shopfloor Management klar definiert und erfordern besondere Verhaltensweisen. Unterstützung erfährt die Führungskraft durch den Einsatz spezifischer Instrumente.

Die fünf Führungsaufgaben im Shopfloor Management bewältigt die Führungskraft vor Ort:
1. Regelkommunikationen durchführen
2. Prozesse bestätigen
3. Mitarbeiter befähigen
4. Die kontinuierliche Verbesserung der Prozesse vorantreiben
5. Probleme strukturiert lösen

Im SFM legt die Führungskraft ein Verhalten an den Tag, das die Mitarbeiter in ihrer Kompetenz fördert, Probleme zu lösen und Verbesserungen zu initiieren. Zum Beispiel fasst die Führungskraft sich kurz, macht nur verbindliche Zusagen, gibt und holt sich selbst Feedback, verschafft sich ein eigenes Bild der Situation, lässt in Lernsituationen Fehler zu, unterlässt Schuldzuweisungen und wendet Fragetechniken an. SFM-Instrumente unterstützen die Wirksamkeit der Führungskraft: z. B. Produktionstagebuch, Kennzahlencharts, Problemlösungsblatt, T-Card-Board.

Shopfloor Management

Das Shop Floor Management (SFM) unterstützt das konsequente Entwickeln ...

Die fünf Führungsaufgaben im Shopfloor Management bewältigt die Führungskraft vor Ort:

  1. Regelkommunikation durchführen
  2. Prozesse bestätigen
  3. Mitarbeiter befähigen
  4. Die kontinuierliche Verbesserung der Prozesse vorantreiben
  5. Probleme strukturiert lösen
SIPOC

Supplier (Lieferant) – Inputs (Einsatzfaktoren) – Process (Prozess) – Output (Ergebnisse) – Customer (Kunde)

SIPOC ist ein Werkzeug von > Six Sigma zum Erfassen eines Gesamtprozesses zu Beginn einer Verbesserungsmassnahme oder eines Verbesserungsprojekts. SIPOC kann zur klaren Abgrenzung von Prozessen in Prozessketten genutzt werden. Ein SIPOC-Diagramm visualisiert die Momentaufnahme eines Prozesses.

Six Sigma

Six Sigma (6 σ) ist ein Managementsystem zur Prozessverbesserung, statistisches Qualitätsziel und zugleich eine Methode des Qualitätsmanagements. Kernelement ist die Beschreibung, Messung, Analyse, Verbesserung und Überwachung von Geschäftsvorgängen mit statistischen Mitteln. In aller Regel kommt es bei jedem Qualitätsmerkmal zu unerwünschter Streuung in den Prozessergebnissen. Im Rahmen einer sogenannten Prozessfähigkeitsuntersuchung werden solche Abweichungen vom Idealzustand in Beziehung zum Toleranzbereich des betreffenden Merkmals gesetzt. Dabei spielt die Standardabweichung des Merkmals (Buchstabe: σ; gesprochen: Sigma) eine wesentliche Rolle. Sie misst die Streubreite des Merkmals, also wie stark die Merkmalswerte voneinander abweichen. Je grösser die Standardabweichung im Vergleich zur Breite des Toleranzbereichs ist, desto wahrscheinlicher ist eine Überschreitung der Toleranzgrenzen. Ebenso gilt: Je weiter sich der Mittelwert vom Zentrum des Toleranzbereichs entfernt (je näher er an eine der Toleranzgrenzen heranrückt), desto grösser ist der Überschreitungsanteil. Deswegen ist es sinnvoll, den Abstand zwischen dem Mittelwert und der nächstgelegenen Toleranzgrenze in Standardabweichungen zu messen. Dieser wie nie überschritten werden. Der Abstand, geteilt durch 3 σ, ist der Prozessfähigkeitsindex Cpk; es gilt Cpk = 1, wenn der Mittelwert 3 σ von der nächstgelegenen Toleranzgrenze entfernt ist. Der Name „Six Sigma“ kommt von der bei Six Sigma erhobenen Forderung, dass die nächstgelegene Toleranzgrenze mindestens sechs Standardabweichungen (6 σ, „Six Sigma“) vom Mittelwert entfernt liegen soll. Wenn diese Forderung erfüllt ist, kann man davon ausgehen, dass praktisch eine „Null-Fehler- Produktion“ erzielt wird und die Toleranzgrenzen so gut wie nie überschritten werden.

SMED (Single minute exchange of die)

engl. für „Werkzeugwechsel“

SMED bedeutet auf Deutsch „Werkzeugwechsel im einstelligen Minutenbereich“ und steht für eine von Shigeo Shingo erfundene Reihe von Techniken für die Umrüstung von Produktionsmaschinen in weniger als 10 Minuten. > Rüstzeitreduzierung

Standardarbeit

Die Standardarbeit bezeichnet die festgelegte Abfolge von Arbeitsschritten, die ein Mitarbeiter innerhalb der > Taktzeit ausführt.

Standardarbeitskombinationsblatt

Das Standardarbeitskombinationsblatt ist ein Dokument, das die Abfolge der Produktionsschritte für einen oder mehrere Mitarbeiter zeigt. Es wird benutzt, um die optimale Kombination von menschlicher und maschineller Arbeit aufzuzeigen.

Standardisierung

Standards beschreiben den festgelegten Ablauf von Prozessen und Arbeitsgängen. Mithilfe der Standardisierung wird das optimale Arbeitsergebnis kontinuierlich bei gleichbleibender Qualität mit effizientem Ressourceneinsatz realisiert, unabhängig davon, wer die Leistung erbringt. Standards sind visuell erkennbar zu machen und ermöglichen dadurch, Fehler und Probleme durch eine Abweichung vom Standard frühzeitig zu erkennen. Darauf basierend werden z. B. Fehlerabstellmassnahmen entwickelt oder ein Problemlösungsprozess gestartet. Standards verhelfen zu einer schnelleren und leichteren Einarbeitung von Mitarbeitern.

Standardlayout

Das Standardlayout ist die Zeichnung einer Arbeitsstation oder -zelle, aus der hervorgeht, in welcher Reihenfolge und auf welchen Wegen die Standardarbeit ausgeführt werden soll.

Supermarkt

Mit Supermarkt bezeichnet man ein Instrument zur selbstständigen Produktionssteuerung. In einem Supermarkt sind alle Waren an einem definierten Platz zu finden und entsprechend griffgünstig angeordnet; der Lagerbestand ist begrenzt; was entnommen wird, wird wieder aufgefüllt.